Lambeth Palace Large

The new suite of awards consist of three existing Lambeth Awards – the Lambeth Cross, the Canterbury Cross and the Cross of St Augustine – and six new awards named after previous holders of the office of Archbishop of Canterbury.

Each recognises outstanding service in different fields, including those of Archbishop Justin’s ministry priorities: prayer and the religious life; reconciliation; and evangelism and witness.

The full list of awards and names of recipients is:

The Lambeth Cross for Ecumenism

  • His Grace, Bishop Angaelos OBE, General Bishop of the Coptic Orthodox Church in the United Kingdom
  • His Eminence Archbishop Gregorios of Thyateira and Great Britain
  • Canon Simon Stephens OBE RN

The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England

  • Mr Peter Beesley
  • Dr Philip Giddings
  • Dr Sarah Horsman
  • Mr Carl Lee
  • The Revd Canon Rob Mackintosh

The Cross of St Augustine for Services to the Anglican Communion

  • Professor Salvatore Bordonali
  • The Revd Canon James Callaway
  • The Revd Hamdy Daoud
  • Bishop Omindo Hilkiah Deya
  • Professor Fabiano Di Prima
  • Mrs Phyllis Richardson

The Dunstan Award for Prayer and the Religious Life

  • Fr Laurent Fabre CCN
  • Brother Samuel SSF

The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation

  • Mr Bill Marsh
  • Shaykh Ibrahim Mogra
  • Sir Andrew Pocock KCMG
  • Rabbi Dr David Rosen KSG CBE
  • The Revd Martin Turner

The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness

  • Mrs Chrysogon Bamber
  • The Revd John Coles
  • The Revd Pamela Cooper
  • Deaconess Susan C Essam
  • Pastor Agu Irukwu
  • Mr Tim Royle

The Lanfranc Award for Education and Scholarship

  • Mr David Day
  • Miss Maureen Hogarth
  • Dr Eeva John

The Langton Award for Community Service

  • Canon Sir Tony Baldry
  • Bishop Geoffrey Davies
  • The Revd Joel Edwards
  • The Venerable Duncan Green
  • The Venerable Arthur Hawes
  • Sir Hector Sants

The Cranmer Award for Worship

  • Canon Dr James Lancelot
  • Dr Philip Moore
  • Mr Matt Redman
  • Mr Michael Williams

The awards, made from Fairtrade silver by the London firm Cred Jewellery, will be conferred upon recipients by the Archbishop during a ceremony at Lambeth Palace on 31st March.

40 people will receive the awards, many Christians but some of other faiths. Recipients will include religious, political and community leaders, musicians and others.

Archbishop Justin Welby said: “It will be a huge honour and joy to confer these awards upon such an extraordinary and diverse group of people. The recipients come from many walks of life and many parts of the world, but all have served in their fields with distinction and self-sacrificial service, going beyond the call of duty.

“I hope and pray that the ceremony on 31st March will be an opportunity for us to honour them and give thanks to God for their gifts, which have been such a blessing to the church and to the world.”

The Lambeth Awards will be presented in the spring each year.

3 min read

Source URL: