



ar's recipients of Lambeth Awards for outstanding contributions

In total 32 awards were this year given to people from across the Church and beyond in fields including evangelism, the Religious life, safeguarding, ecumenism, theology and interfaith relations.

The recipients include people from New Zealand, Kenya and the USA, as well as a number of others in the UK and Ireland. The awards are usually presented at a ceremony at Lambeth Palace, which this year has had to be cancelled due to Covid-19.

Archbishop Justin Welby said: "This is the fifth year of the Lambeth Awards, and I am constantly impressed and humbled by the work that recipients have accomplished, sometimes in the most challenging circumstances. Not all are followers of Jesus Christ, but all contribute through their faith to the mutual respect and maintenance of human dignity which are so vital to spiritual and social health."

This year's recipients are listed below and the full citations are available to read here.

Mrs Jocelyn Armstrong – The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation. For her outstanding contribution to interfaith relations in New Zealand.

Jonathan Bryan – The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness. In the face of extraordinary challenges, Jonathan has become a communicator of the good news of Jesus Christ and an embodiment of the hope he brings.

Rev. Canon Paul-Gordon Chandler – The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation. For his distinct and exceptional contribution in using the arts for interreligious peacebuilding around the world.

Mr Abdul Muquaddas Choudhuri - The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation. For outstanding work in the area of Interfaith Cooperation.

Mr John Mullin Clark – The Cross of St Augustine for Services to the Anglican Communion. For an outstanding and selfless contribution to the life and witness of churches of the Anglican Communion, especially in the Middle East and specifically Iran, over 50 years.

Christopher Charles Holland Cook - The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England. For his outstanding work on inter-

Mr Charles Curnock – The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England. For sustained, voluntary contributions to church

leadership and governance, the care of the elderly, and political action, as well as direction of two major church renovation projects.

Canon Richard Fisher – The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness. For outstanding innovative work in supporting and developing

Fresh Expressions of Church such as Messy Church, Who Let The Dads Out? and, more recently, Anna Chaplaincy.

Alan Fletcher – Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England. For outstanding service to the Church of England Pensions Board over a period of eleven years and to the Church of England more generally through service on the General Synod, to the Diocese of Leicester, to Leicester Cathedral and as a member of the Ethical Investment Advisory Group.

Joseph Galgalo – the Cross of St Augustine for Services to the Anglican Communion. For being a leading Anglican African theologian, an entrepreneurial Vice Chancellor of a Kenyan University and a significant influence in the vitality of the Anglican Communion.

Bishop Kenneth Good - The Langton Award for Community Service. For giving strategic leadership to the local church to engage fully with the community, throughout his ordained ministry, most of which was in the complex community of Northern Ireland.

Mother Jennifer Anne Goodeve – The Langton Award for Community Service. For outstanding leadership skills in transforming a Victorian convent into a modern nursing home and driving forward change for over thirty years.

Bernice Hardie (on behalf of WAVE: We're All Valued Equally) – The Langton Award for Community Service. For creating places of true inclusion for people with and without learning disabilities.

Phil Johnson – The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England. For outstanding service to improving safeguarding practice in the Church of England.

Dr Margaret Kennedy - The Langton Award for Community Service. For rendering outstanding service to victims and survivors of Churchrelated sexual abuse through founding MACSAS.

Jo Kind – The Canterbury Cross for service to the Church of England. For outstanding service to improving safeguarding practice in the Church of England.

Hugh McCurdy – The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England. For dedication, loyalty and service to the mission of the Church of England with a particular focus on the mentoring and discipling of others, especially junior clergy.

Bishop Donal Mckeown – The Langton Award for Community Service. For his exceptional and sustained dedication to the cause of peace

and social cohesion in an environment of traditional interdenominational tension.

Rev Dr Lydia Muthoni Mwaniki – The Lanfranc Award for Education and Scholarship. For her prayerful, post-colonial interpretation of the

New Testament, astute advocacy of gender justice, and articulate joy in Christ, which have influenced church leaders and the education and hope

of innumerable women throughout Africa.

Jonathan Osborne – The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness. For exemplary service as Senior Chaplain of the Metropolitan Police Service.

Jan Pike – The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation. For her outstanding commitment and contribution to grass roots inter-faith and cross-cultural work.

Mike Pilavachi – The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness. For his outstanding contribution to evangelism and discipleship amongst young people in the United Kingdom.

Anthony G. Reddie – The Lanfranc Award for Education and Scholarship. For his exceptional and sustained contribution to Black Theology in Britain and beyond.

Melvyn Redgers – The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England. For outstanding continuous service in the vocation of Lay Reader since 1958.

Pam Rhodes – The Thomas Cranmer Award for Worship. For her outstanding work in hosting Songs of Praise on the BBC for over 30 years.

Fr James Roose-Evans – The Dunstan Award for Prayer and the Religious Life. For his distinctive contribution in exploring over 65 years the relationship between art and life, the creative and the spiritual.

Professor John Swinton – The Lanfranc award for Education and Scholarship. For his outstanding contribution to practical theology, particularly in the area of disability.

The Right Reverend Dr Joseph Wasonga – The Cross of St Augustine for Services to the Anglican Communion. For services to the Anglican Communion, particularly in his role as Bishop of Maseno West, Dean of the Province of Kenya, and his role as a researcher and facilitator for Bishops Peer Mentoring workshops across the African continent.

Professor Richard Watson – The Thomas Cranmer Award for Worship. For his unparalleled contribution to the study and promotion of the

Celia Webster – The Langton Award for Community Service. For creating places of true inclusion for people with and without learning

disabilities.

The Reverend David Williams – The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness. For outstanding work across two decades, ministering and

witnessing to the families of sick and dying children.

The Reverend Canon Stephen Williams – The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation. For an outstanding

contribution and commitment to building relationships between Christians and Jews in Manchester.

Photos of the Lambeth Awards insignia are available to download here.

6 min read

Source URL: https://www.archbishopofcanterbury.org/news/archbishop-canterbury-announces-2020-lambeth-awards-recipients

Page 5