Archbishop of Canterbury relaunches Michael Ramsey Prize for 2023


ramsey prize giving

The Michael Ramsey Prize for Theological Writing celebrates the most promising theological writing from the Church worldwide. The prize has been re-launched for 2023 and is asking members of the public to nominate books that have inspired or encouraged them in their faith.   

Nominations are now open, with the winner of the prize to be announced in December 2023. The winner will receive an award of £15,000, shortlisted authors are awarded £2,500 each.   

Mark Oakley was the prize winner for the book ‘A Splash of Words’ in 2019, with winners from previous years including authors John Swinton, Luke Bretherton, David Bentley, Richard Bauckham, Timothy Radcliffe and N T Wright. 

The Michael Ramsey Prize, which is partnered by the McDonald Agape Foundation, was inaugurated by Archbishop of Canterbury Dr Rowan Williams in 2005 to encourage the most promising contemporary theological writing and to identify it for a wider Christian readership.  

The Prize commemorates Dr Ramsey, who was Archbishop of Canterbury 1961-1974, and his commitment to increasing the breadth of theological understanding among the Christian, and non-Christian, population at large.

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby, who presides over the Prize, said: 

“It is absolutely vital that Christians engage thoughtfully, in a deep and robust manner, with scripture, doctrine and tradition. Theology isn’t just for a few clever people – thinking about who God is to us is what humans have done for thousands of years. Relaunching the Michael Ramsey Prize in 2023 is a wonderful opportunity to support theological engagement across the Church. 

I pray we might be inspired afresh by the Spirit as we read, write and reflect on the boundless hope, mercy, justice and love of God in Jesus Christ. So – spread the word and get thinking, and let’s celebrate those writers who are challenging us in new ways to understand more about the boundless hope, mercy, justice, peace and love of God.” 


The goals of the Prize are to: 

- Encourage the writing and reading of theology to help the Church in thinking more deeply, acting more wisely, and witnessing more effectively. 

- Promote engagement with theology by generating publicity, providing a forum for discussion, and contributing to the popularity of theological literature. 

- Provide a vehicle by which the Office of the Archbishop of Canterbury can encourage and challenge Christians to love God with all their heart and soul and mind and strength. 

- Recognise and contribute to the success of published resources that will encourage all Christians to play a more active role in a worldwide praying, witnessing, and reconciling church. 

Nominations Criteria

Nominations can be made here >>

Closing date for nominations: 14th June 2023 

Nominations should meet the following criteria: 

  • The book must have a living author. 
  • It must have been published between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2022. 
  • It must have been written in, or translated into, English. 
  • Works by more than three authors will not be considered. 

The longlist, and the panel of judges, will be announced in summer 2023, with the shortlist announced this autumn. The judges will meet to decide the winner shortly before the award ceremony in December 2023.  

More information is available at

3 min read