Archbishop Justin Welby and friends reflect on the meaning of Christmas in new book ‘In This Light’

Archbishop Justin Welby has published a new book bringing together people from all walks all life to reflect on what Christmas means to them.
In This Light contributors

The Archbishop of Canterbury, Justin Welby, has published a new book bringing together people from all walks all life to reflect on what Christmas means to them.

‘In This Light: Thoughts for Christmas’ features stories from the world’s toughest prisons, to people finding courage in refugee camps. Doctors reflect on facing fear at the operating table, while others talk about finding hope after disappointments and struggles at Christmas.

Published by Harper Inspire, the collection of personal essays includes contributions from Bishop Michael Curry, Julie Etchingham, Jonathan Bryan, Matt Brittin, John Kerry, Sadiq Khan, Agnes Abuom, Hosam Naoum, Sally Phillips, Bryan Stevenson, Alan Titchmarsh and Hae Woo, among many others.

In This Light books

All royalties from the book are being donated to three charities close to Archbishop Justin’s heart. They will be divided equally between Caring for Ex-Offenders, part of the ministry of Holy Trinity Brompton; the Equal Justice Initiative; the Melanesian Mission and Charis Tiwala.

As diverse as the authors, Archbishop Justin hopes that these raw and honest stories will resonate with people from all backgrounds, faiths, and spheres of life.

“As you will quickly see, they are an eclectic bunch – believers and sceptics, priests, teachers and artists – each of whom, has shaped how I think and work,” the Archbishop said.


Full list of contributors

Dr Agnes Abuom, Benjamin, Matt Brittin, Jonathan Bryan, George Butler, Father Raniero Cantalamessa, Luke Carson, The Charis Team, Shane Claiborne, The Community of St Anselm: Ignacio Fantaguzzi and Joanna Muirhead, Dany Cotton, Pippa Cramer, Bishop Michael Curry, Robi Damelin, The Revd Jo Davies, Rebecca De Mabior, Tobias Ellwood, Julie Etchingham, Sarah Giles, Grace, Rupert Grey, Bear Grylls, Miranda Hart, Anthony Ray Hinton, Afua Hirsch, Dorothy Horn, Ellis Jones, John Kerry, Sadiq Khan, Emmily Koiti, Sally Lloyd-Jones, Jo Malone, Jarrod McKenna, Hosam Naoum, Daoud Nassar, David Nott, Sally Phillips, Matt Redman, Pete Reed, Fiona Ruttle, Elif Shafak, Canon Sarah Snyder, Charlie Spencer, Bryan Stevenson, Alan Titchmarsh, Archbishop Justin Welby and Hea Woo.