The Archbishop and Canterbury Diocese

The Archbishop of Canterbury is also the Bishop of Canterbury diocese in the Church of England.

The Archbishop of Canterbury is also the Bishop of Canterbury, alongside his national and international responsibilities. He regularly spends time in the diocese, particularly at Christmas and Easter and at ordination time. 

Every other year during Holy Week Archbishop Justin participates in a week of mission in one of the deaneries of Canterbury diocese. In the intervening years, he gives the Holy Week Lectures at Canterbury Cathedral. 

The enthronement of Justin Welby as Archbishop of Canterbury at Canterbury Cathedral in March 2013

The See of Canterbury — that is, the cathedral, parishes and other communities and institutions that make up the Diocese — is the 'mother church' of the Church of England. 

The Diocese of Canterbury, which covers most of East Kent, is the oldest diocese in England. It includes 327 churches in 231 parishes, along with 103 church schools and a University.

Archbishop Justin is supported in his diocesan ministry by the Bishop of Dover, the Rt Revd Rose Hudson-Wilkin.

Bishop Rose and Archbishop Justin

The diocesan vision is be a Church that is deeply prayerful, courageously led and more diverse; a Church where partnerships, mission and ministry are shaped by those on the edge of our communities; a Church changed by faith in Jesus Christ, overflowing to change the communities that it serves.

Canterbury Cathedral was founded by St Augustine and is regarded as ‘Mother Church' of the global Anglican Communion. 


As its bishop the Archbishop is the 'metropolitan' bishop of the whole of the 'province' of Canterbury: that is, the 30 diocesan sees of southern England and the Diocese in Europe, in relation to which he has a permanent authority of jurisdiction.

Find out more about Canterbury Diocese